An Introduction to the ITIL Framework

What is ITIL?

Information Technology Infrastructure Library (ITIL) is a collection of best practices intended to help IT services be managed more efficiently. These guidelines define a process-based approach to the management and the continuous improvement of information technologies and services.

ITIL 4 provides the guidance organizations need to address new service management challenges and harness the potential of modern technologies in the age of cloud, agile, and DevOps transformations. A vital component of the ITIL 4 framework is the use of a single, uniform, and cohesive set of guidelines for the management of IT services.

Interest in and adoption of ITIL is growing worldwide. A couple of the public and private organizations that have adopted ITIL are the US Department of Health (HHS) and the United Nations (UN), among others.

ITIL in Higher Ed

Many institutions are implementing ITIL to ensure they have a common vocabulary and methodology surrounding request fulfillment and incident response.

Increased demands for online and blended learning experiences put pressure on IT organizations, but IT budgets are staying static or even decreasing.

ITIL in Public Sector

Likewise, in an ever-connected world, state and local governments need to provide new services and keep up with changing needs while often balancing tight budgets.

Implementing IT Service Management practices enables schools and SLGs to standardize and optimize the way they respond to the ever-increasing demand while keeping operational costs low and customer satisfaction high.

Current ITIL Trends

The newest version of ITIL, ITIL 4, started rolling out last year with a low-level foundation. The higher-level courses/certifications are now being introduced.

While the underlying practices remain generally the same, the new version focuses on “value co-creation” with clients, creating more engagement when it comes to client collaboration.  The methodology has also positioned itself to be more of an integration platform between other processes and methodologies (project/portfolio management, etc.).


The Foundation is currently in the process of implementing an entry-level ITIL 4.0 certification to introduce the key elements, concepts, and terminologies used in ITIL. Managed by the International IT Management Association (ITMA) and the IT Service Management Foundation, the Professional Stream is geared towards IT professionals and digital teams working in Corporate technology. The focus is on the development and implementation of IT service management and information management systems, as well as the implementation and management of information security.

The most recent release, ITIL 4.0, is the first significant update of ITIL since 2007 and arguably the most critical update in the history of the IT Service Management Framework. It modernizes the framework by adopting a holistic approach to service management and focusing on end-to-end management with on-demand value. It provides a flexible basis to support the expansion and implementation of information management and information security systems on a scalable basis. ITIL 4.0 has been described as “the next generation of technology-enabled products for the IT service management industry.”

The 5 Stages of ITIL

The ITIL framework bases itself on five phases of the service life cycle, with the leading publications providing best practices and guidelines for each stage. The guidelines set out the necessary processes, associated challenges, and best practices for each phase of the service life cycle, as well as the requirements for the implementation of each phase.

1) Service Strategy

The life cycle of ITIL begins with Service Strategy. It sits at the center of the ITIL life cycle because a stable and precise service strategy is necessary for better service management. This sets the pace and course for the management of IT services that drive the business objective of any organization. This stage determines what capabilities will need to be developed or implemented, including the definition of markets, development of assets, or the necessary preparations for deployment.

2) Service Design

Ideas become plans in the second ITIL life cycle stage. It is here that services and processes bear out the primary goal of providing a better service management environment. Improvements present for existing issues or protocols. With foresight, a strong organization that follows the stage of ITIL can help in service cataloging, capacity, Information security, availability, or asset management.

3) Service Transition

The third stage of the ITIL life cycle is where the preparation of services and strategies that will be implemented in the live environment take place. It is here that organizations test and implement new designs. By correcting any issues that arise, organizations are setting themselves up for a smooth transition of their services, mitigating the chance for disruption.

4) Service Operation

Now that the services and processes launch into a living environment for customers and peers, the Operation stage of the life cycle begins. Service owners must be prepared and available to report any issues as they arise and make sure that customers are satisfied with the services and process. Even the most thorough reviews of life cycle step two and three will still inevitably result in issues or unforeseen hurdles.  If an ITSM team can firmly adhere to the ITIL framework, they can prepare for any service failures or routine operational tasks.

5) Continual Service Improvement

The status quo is never good enough for the ITIL framework. Organizations and enterprises are never satisfied with the services they provide, always looking for ways to improve or develop further reaching and better processes. This last stage of the ITIL framework directs organizations to search for potential improvements in all the previous steps. By looking at what is measurable versus what is not and by processing and sorting of the data into quantifiable findings, the cycle starts all over again.

While ITIL v3 defined several processes for organizing the service life cycle, ITIL 4 describes the principles, concepts, and practices in more detail. Additional guidance ensures that practitioners better understand the impact of each phase. This impact is essential throughout the entire life cycle and the challenges of implementation at each of these stages. ITIL 4 also provides a framework for integrating ITIL with other services such as cloud, mobile, and cloud – as – a – service.

ITIL Frameworks Change Organizations for the Better

With an understanding of the ITIL framework and how it can be used to improve the quality of IT service management in an organization, IT professionals can change their organizations for the better. Those that have implemented and adapted ITIL need to be informed about the control of information security, IT management, and information management. Being well informed fits well with the organization’s desire to establish, implement, maintain, and continuously improve the service management system.


You might also like:

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By closing this notice you agree to the use of cookies.